Why Entrepreneurs Should Wake Up At 5 AM

Andrew Holliday
Big Hairy Goals
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2020

--

Mornings are my most productive time. My creativity peaks before 10 am. If I don’t start working until 8 am, that only leaves two hours of quality output.

And realistically, I won’t sit down to my desk until 8:30 am by the time I get my kids to school, fight traffic, park, and walk to my office. Now I’m down to less than two hours. Subtract the time I waste on emails I can’t resist sending and I’m down below an hour. There goes my creative time.

For me, getting up at 5 am translates into “me time” for my business. My kids are still asleep, my clients aren’t emailing, and I’m free to crush my top priority. Notice I said “my” top priority. If I let my morning slip away, I get caught up in everyone else’s top priority. My clients all have hot items on their list that need addressing. After 10 am, my day is about delivering for my clients, not me. Said another way, I start working in my business instead of on my business after 10 am.

Schedule The Technician & Entrepreneur

If you’re reading this, you’ve probably read the E-Myth. Michael Gerber’s book was one of the first to call out the problem of working in your business instead of on your business. I’m all too familiar with this problem. I have a tendency to screw myself by taking on too much because “I can do it better than…

--

--