A Letter to My Entitled, Coronaspiracy Theorist Friends

Kat Kennedy
The Bigger Picture
Published in
9 min readJul 6, 2020

--

Photo by Tai’s Captures on Unsplash

Let me preface this by saying that I adore you. Over the years you’ve enriched my life in countless wonderful ways, and you’ve shown me an abundance of kindness. We’ve faced good times and bad, shared laughter and tears, and you’ve taught me life lessons that I carry with me each day. You are my soulmates, teachers, and companions and I know that you mean well and want only the best for humanity. After all, you dream of a nice, simple, healthy life, just like everyone else.

Like me, you’re eager to socialize and resume business as usual. Plus you, too, would like to travel internationally again at some point before you die…But, as I’m a scientist and you’re not, I’m writing this to break it down for you in the hope that we can quit prolonging this pandemic any more than is absolutely necessary.

Here’s the thing: I get the importance of questioning everything. Trust me, it’s how I’ve been trained to think in my line of work. It goes a little something like this: What do I know? What do I think I know? How can I know for sure? Oh that’s right — data! The ability to speculate tells me that you have a brain, but making a point with data to back it up tells me that you’re worth listening to.

Erring on the side of caution when you hear a new story in the media is a wise approach. Unfortunately there are a…

--

--

Kat Kennedy
The Bigger Picture

Desert dwellin’ third culture kid | PhD student studying sleep and health