Every Time I Regret Quitting My Job to Be a Writer, I Look at This

A reminder of who I really am and what I want in life

Bertilla Niveda
The Bigger Picture

--

(Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels)

“I hope you don’t regret this decision, you or your family.”

That’s what my senior manager said to me when I quit.

He said it after a discussion of my resignation and the reason behind it, and he couldn’t understand why I would leave an IT dev job to write. I was prepared for any amount of backlash though, so without skipping a beat, I replied promptly — “No, I won’t.”

But on the inside, I freaked out.

What did I leave behind?

I quit my job two months ago. I was a .NET developer, coding web APIs for a top MNC in India. And I quit after one year of working there, to become a freelance writer and content creator.

This decision baffled most of my family and friends. See, I was a studious “topper” who focused on my academics throughout my school and college days. And where I’m from, it’s the norm to choose an IT career and be an engineer even if you hate it.

I was always inclined towards something more creative and deeply disliked my IT job. However, that job was the result of my entire education and it took me an enormous amount of self-debating and…

--

--

Bertilla Niveda
The Bigger Picture

Artist, engineer, and writer with a lot to say. You can connect with me at bertillaniveda@gmail.com | Learn more→ https://bit.ly/3Ba489Q