Lady in Red

Allison Frascatore
The Bigger Picture
Published in
4 min readMar 8, 2017

It’s International Women’s Day and I am seated at my desk like every other week day 9–5. Today I am wearing my red dress, representing the women’s movement in America, and in support of the resistance, but in reality I can’t afford to actually strike. This is a truth for a lot of women today, but what weighs more heavily on me today is that there are many women, of course internationally, but also within the United States that are not free to express themselves. Even with a red dress.

Feminism by definition is the call to action for equal rights. This does not mean that feminism is designed to heighten women’s rights above men’s, or shame fellow women who are not in the position to fight for themselves.

The common argument is: What am I, as a free and privileged American woman, complaining about?

I am fortunate to have been raised by two intelligent, open-minded and strong parents who encouraged their only daughter AND their two sons to strive to do the right thing, and provided the guidance to recognize what that is. Our educations were paid for, and we had the opportunity to enact much of those core values we were taught in our formative years. We were taught respect for all people, regardless of their origin, sexual orientation, or gender. We were also raised Catholic, which may surprise you as our church has many stances contradictory to those mentioned. However, in my experience religion and a belief system is based on a personal interpretation. As my parents said, “Take what you want from mass. Be good to people. Leave the rest.” Maybe religion has no place in politics, but core values do, and I am proud of mine.

That said, not all women have the luxury of interpretive religion, or progressive gender roles. My mother is the product of an Italian immigrant, and a second generation Irishman. The traditional gender roles were very present, as was religion, and a good deal of exclusion of certain groups, mostly out of fear or misinformation. Some are a product of their environment, and perpetuate generations of tradition based on their family’s dynamic. Others, “take what they want, and leave the rest.” Luckily for me, my mother chose to hold on to the core family values, and incredible traditions shared by her family, but left behind the gender roles and racial exclusivity that was also a part of her upbringing.

In some families, there is not an option to change the status quo. To separate from tradition, religion, or expected gender roles just isn’t tolerated. I feel for these families, these women, and these men who are not free to broaden their worldview, but I do so without judgement and without shaming. Feminism strives to elevate us all to be on the same level, its intention is not to shame those who are not “active enough.”

Today, I wear red for you. Even if you don’t want me to. Even if you don’t think you need it. I want you to have accessible healthcare without judgment as far as your personal and sexual choices. I want you to have fair and paid maternity leave. I want you to have protection of your rights should you be a victim of domestic abuse. I never want you to be denied health care due to pregnancy or rape being defined as a “pre-existing condition.” I want you to be able to use whatever restroom you’d like without being called a pedophile. I want you to be able to travel freely without being targeted due to religion or national origin. I want you to be free to make your own decisions when it comes to reproduction. I want you to stop being called a snowflake for supporting your wives, daughters, and sisters.

That’s the thing about snowflakes though…they easily dissipate on their own, but in bulk they have shut down entire cities.

Empathy and action should not be shamed as weakness and over-emotion. I want you to feel worthy of equality, and worthy of an opinion. I want you to feel free to excel. I want you to feel loved and valued for who you are, and not how you look. And I know that wearing red won’t do all of that, but it starts a conversation, it sends a message, and it encourages others that they are not alone.

And lastly, I want you to know that I am not “just wearing red.” I am calling representatives to fight for the rights of women on every bill that is introduced to bring us down. I am involved in my community resistance groups and local government. I am informed on what is being discussed in our nation’s capital. Red is just a color, but today it represents so much more. And I wear it proudly.

--

--

Allison Frascatore
The Bigger Picture

Born from a fusion of frustration and creative overload. Equipped with a semi-functional filter. Encouraged by the growth of connectivity through writing.