Letters from My Greek God

Bonnie Barton
The Bigger Picture
Published in
5 min readJul 9, 2019

--

(Image/Steve Barker via unsplash.com)

He was a Greek god. Well, he was a student at FSU in the early 90s.

I still remember the first time I laid eyes on him during my first week as a freshman. Even in the darkened cavernous classroom, I couldn’t not notice him.

Once, a couple of years later, I happened to be driving on campus as the sun was setting. The sun was so blinding he never saw me. At 6'4", he had a regal air. His lightly tanned face and torso glistened. His hair fell into his brilliant bright blue eyes. An inconsequential jog to him is etched in my mind forever.

To this day, I have never seen a more handsome man. As the sun alighted him, he was Michaelangelo’s David and the Greek god Apollo with a little River Phoenix thrown in.

I longed to meet him but was far too shy to do anything about it.

To my shock, he slid into the desk next to me just before the third lecture.

He was a sophomore. Well-read, well-spoken, quirky, and mysterious.

I was smitten!

We dated a bit my freshman year, but he was recovering from his own freshman year dating wounds at another college.

Though we never dated seriously, we had an inexplicable connection.

--

--

Bonnie Barton
The Bigger Picture

Queen of mixtapes. Lover of music, travel, and fashion. Authentic sharer of life lessons and dating foibles.