Sharon McMahon’s Fact Revolution Is Working to Unify America

A former teacher is going viral on Instagram, teaching a fast-growing community about U.S. government and sharing a heartfelt message.

Amy Colleen
The Bigger Picture

--

(Image copyrighted by Sharon McMahon, used with permission)

“I don’t like that crocodiles eat baby gazelles. It makes me feel terrible, but it doesn’t require my approval. It’s how nature works, whether I like it or not.”

So said Sharon McMahon, former government teacher and current Instagram educator (“America’s Not Boring Government Teacher”), when I asked her about her most famous catchphrase: “Facts do not require your approval.”

McMahon gently reminds her multitude of Instagram followers (556,000 at the time of this writing) that “facts do not require their approval” on a regular basis. The statement has become a slogan for McMahon’s exploding community of “governerds.” Hailing from both the left and right sides of the political aisle, McMahon’s social media community has embraced her commitment to non-partisan facts with surprising unity. The American political scene is currently rife with heated disagreement. But at McMahon’s Instagram account, Sharon Says So, liberals and conservatives are coming together to recognize bias and find common ground.

--

--

Amy Colleen
The Bigger Picture

I read a lot of books & sometimes I’m funny. I aspire to be a novelist, practice at humor & human interest writing, and am very fond of the Oxford comma.