TBP Writing Prompt Highlights, Vol. 2: Bad Habits

A compilation 10 months in the making

The Bigger Picture
The Bigger Picture
2 min readOct 25, 2016

--

Back in February, we asked our readers: What is your worst habit?

Below are parts of our favorite responses — a beautiful combination of self-realizations, honesty, and poetry.

(Image/Hasor)

“My worst habit is TV. I admit it…I’m TOTALLY seduced. What’s not to love… There’s creativity, mastery, showmanship, art, culture.” -Mercy

“I think I could skip an entire NFL season… Who knew that every weekend from September to February had TWO days?” -Ryan Hussey

“The habit I need to kick is emotionally kicking myself.” -Madison Parker

“I decided to give everyone the space they need. It may seem difficult to not sulk when there’s no reply to a message. But the conversations after a long period of waiting, is totally worth it.” -Juhi Rachel Baluja

“Wikipedia says that trichotillomania often occurs in a “trance-like” state. I get that. I feel like my original intent is for my hand to simply stroke my non-existent philosopher beard, to try and pull some big thought from the brain. Drag it out from down below, exiting from the chin.” -John Martin

“I always thought it was silly to have hundreds upon hundreds of photos I’d never look through. Records of my flaws, frozen in time.” -Jing Jing Li

“A book half-read, a movie half-watched
Work half-done and a song half-sung
Halves and halves that don’t make a whole
Half-hearted, half-assed, you’re not gonna grow
Haphazard jobs, done last minute
When will you learn to just sit
And finish?” -Audrey

“I’m always in love and it’s always unfortunate, because it’s never with myself.” -Ashley Corbett

If you enjoyed this prompt, follow The Bigger Picture on Facebook here, and stay tuned for our next one.

--

--