The Mail That Changed My Life

You never know what gifts life will deliver to your mailbox

Beth Bruno
The Bigger Picture

--

(Photo/Mikaela Wiedenhoff on Unsplash)

I had just been fired. With an e-mail. By my brother! Things could not get much worse. But then they did.

I started applying for other jobs. I applied for one that used all the skills I had acquired by doing the billing for my brother’s electrical contracting business. It was a similar job for a paving company. I knew it paid well and I felt good about my chances of getting it.

While I was waiting to hear back from them I became busy with my three kids and our small hobby farm. Days went by before I walked past the answering machine in my office and saw the light blinking.

When I listened to the message it was the paving company calling me for an interview. When I realized that the call was 5 days old I had a panic attack. I quickly called them back only to be told that when I didn’t return their call they went forward with the hiring. I missed my chance.

I was furious with myself. It was the best prospect I had and I had ruined it by not paying attention. I really wanted that job.

To let off a little steam, I decided to take myself for a walk to the mailbox which was 1/4 mile up our driveway to the road. I was feeling so miserable. I felt like that was my best chance…

--

--

Beth Bruno
The Bigger Picture

Human learning to be human. Writing in hopes of getting there.