Let’s Deviate from the Norm

Chris
The Bigger Picture
Published in
5 min readJan 11, 2020
(Image from Pixabay)

“We all have to deviate from the norm,” she said to me as we stood over his body.

“Yeah, I know that much,” I said, reluctantly. “I need to go home now, we’ll catch up to do it again tomorrow,” I stated.

“See you then outcast,” she said plainly but proud.

At that time I started towards home. Confused, flustered, and outraged I walked as quick as I could to get back to my car. Michelle and I had been discussing removing ourselves from the grind of daily life. We each needed some thrill, but I didn’t have in mind what she did. I thought we’d take a spontaneous trip, maybe go to some bars meant for younger people. Have a good time and escape the grind is what I thought we were going to do.

When I got home, I could hardly believe what had happened. I had to reflect though. Michelle and I had dreamt of changing our lives in some way. We always seemed on terms, but it isn’t until this night I realized we were not. We wanted to escape our boring lives and create something new, something exciting. For the both of us, but importantly for us individually as well. This night we agreed to make it finally happen.

I can remember Michelle saying “Great, I have a plan. Just meet me down by our favorite café at 8:00 tonight and we’ll be in for some fun.”

So I head down to our favorite café, a little early, and sat down for a good beer. After some time, Michelle arrived. From there I’ll do my best to summarize what happened without wasting words.

“Follow my lead,” she said. “We’ll be different from the others in short time and we’ll have the thrill of our lives.”

The look in her eyes and the tone of her voice was not something that put me at ease, but I had no reason to distrust her. And so, off we went. We went to the street and it appeared Michelle wanted to hail a cab. While I was curious what she had planned, this seemed to be a natural start to a spontaneous evening. A cab pulled over and she asked the man to help her load her luggage into the trunk. The man got out and she held a knife to him.

“Do as I say or it will be your last move,” she spoke harshly. “Michael lead us to your car,” she said to me.

Realizing I had no say in this matter, I agreed reluctantly. Fortunately, she could not see I was hesitant, and I feigned some sort of enthusiasm. I led us to my car parked just down the block and we all got in. Me in the driver’s seat and Michelle and our new hostage in the back. She forced me to drive to the nearby forest, which was about a fifteen minute drive with no traffic.

“Stop here,” she said eventually. “Let’s get out and into the woods. I have a place in mind that will serve perfectly.”

We got out and went into the woods. Technically, our cab driver was in the lead, but Michelle was pushing each step where she wanted. The night was fairly lit. The moon was not full but it was close enough to illuminate the woods and offer some direction. I could see the shadows of the pines in front of us and I could hear the owls as they fought for their territory. We eventually found the perfect place, according to Michelle, and we stopped and sat down. I sat on a stump nearby, while Michelle and our cab driver sat on a log perfectly located. Had this been another occasion, I think I would have liked to come here with friends to have a fire in the woods and tell ghost stories. Tonight, however, we were here to deviate from the norm. Michelle’s norm, that is.

I see no reason to glorify what happened next. Michelle ordered the man to stand up in the middle of us. She was still holding the knife to his gut. He stood and walked to the middle of the grounds we were sitting in. As soon as he reached the midpoint of our miniature and poorly constructed circle, she put the knife into his stomach. She forced it as far as she could and she did not stop. The man died before our eyes and each last gasp for breath he mustered made me sick as the last. Michelle looked proud and I faked my own pride. I was determined to not be the next victim.

As I had explained before, I went home after this. I knew where he died and was aware nobody else knew. Whatever this norm Michelle was deviating from, I decided I belonged in the norm. Two days passed and I could not keep my eyes off the news. No missing person reports, no sign of anything. Life went on as this cab driver never existed.

“I wonder if there would be any news if I was the cab driver,” I thought to myself. “Probably not,” I concluded.

The world goes on and we just live in it. Until we don’t. Then we don’t live in it anymore. But one thing remains. The world. The world remains when we do not. It goes on and it will not stop. The cab driver was the norm. He lost his life and it was a fine life I am sure. Michelle was not the norm, but we can be sure she will be put under much cleaner than the cab driver. The world will go on until that day comes. After that day comes, there will be only one certainty. The world will go on. It always does. Generations have passed, wars have been waged, and many will be lost. There will always be the same constant — this world. It will spin. It has spun before me, and it will spin after. I will die with what happened that night, and the world will live knowing it too. If you want one safe bet in this lifetime, you can bet it will spin after you as well.

--

--