Writing Prompt #5: Ikigai

Ryan Hussey
The Bigger Picture
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readFeb 21, 2018

--

Purpose. I think about this concept often. Something tells me we all do, whether we’ve heard of ikigai or not. Our desire to find a reason for being gives us a common struggle.

For the first time in my life, I feel like I’ve found my ikigai. Sure, I feel useless sometimes and doubt that I’m doing something the world actually needs. But if at least one of the actions I take every day helps at least one person, I can sleep at night knowing I fulfilled my purpose.

What’s your purpose?

What are you doing right now that makes you feel fulfilled? Are you good at it? Do you love it? Is it helping you pay the bills? Are you making a difference?

The Bigger Picture wants to know your thought process when you wrestle with your meaning. What kinds of questions do you ask yourself? How do you answer them? What conclusions do you come to? Do you feel changed after this introspection?

Purpose is a complex idea. It can mean completely different things to people who come from different backgrounds. The beauty is: we all come from a different background. Tell us your truth in 500 words or less.

Write a response on Medium, or send an email to biggerpicturemedium [at] gmail.com with your story and a link to your Medium account.

Looking forward to reading your work! I’ll feature my favorites in The Bigger Picture soon.

All the best,

Ryan from TBP

--

--