You Should Stay in an Irish Yurt

Why planning your trip ahead of time is a terrible idea

Shawn Forno
The Bigger Picture

--

(Photo by Patrick Schneider via Unsplash)

“What about a yurt?” my girlfriend Lainey asked.

“A what?” I grunted as I scrolled through Airbnb listings on my phone. “Did you just say ‘yurt’?”

Yeah, a yurt. A Mongolian-style yurt,” she repeated as if that cleared things up. “I found a good one.”

“What if we stayed in a yurt?” she asked.

And just like that, our year-long trip around the world took a weird turn.

(Photo by Lough Mardal Lodge)

The Search for an Irish Yurt

“Yurt” isn’t a word you hear very often, at least not while looking for a last-minute place to stay in Ireland. So when Lainey spun her laptop around to show me the pictures, it took a few seconds for them to sink in.

But sure enough, she was right.

Those were some sweet yurts (yes, there were several options). They were even right next to a lake.

--

--

Shawn Forno
The Bigger Picture

A very left-handed writer | YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/DaysWeSpend | Lonely Planet, Matt D’Avella, The Startup, MindCafe, Writer’s Cooperative