Recapping our Top Gun 3D movie night with Paramount Pictures

Darshan Shankar
Bigscreen
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2018

On December 29th, we hosted Top Gun 3D with Paramount Pictures in Bigscreen. The event was a resounding success, with nearly 10,000 people coming into the Bigscreen VR movie theater to watch a 3D movie with friends.

On average, people stayed to watch an hour of the movie, and 15% of people finished the entire 2 hour movie. These are incredible numbers, proving that social movie watching in VR is a compelling and engaging use case.

For many people, this was their first time watching a 3D movie in VR with friends. The reaction was overwhelming:

“Just finished watching the first screening. Looked shockingly good…I only expected to check it out for a short bit but ended up unintentionally watching the entire thing​”

“I thought the 3D effect was tasteful, subtle, and really upped the immersion factor. After taking my headset off I was a bit taken aback; for two hours I had been transported to a movie theater

“I was blown away personally. I was fully immersed from the get go. The movie theater too is very cool and immersive. I felt like I was in a real theater.​”

“ I watched all the way to the end of the credits and enjoyed every bit of the experience.​”

“Watching Top Gun in Bigscreen felt like I was watching a 3D movie for the very first time. THIS is how 3D movies were always meant to be but never could…​different levels of depth popped without being distracting, and the entire screen was bright and vibrant even with the 3D effect. I don’t think I can ever really appreciate a 3D movie in a “real” theater again​.”

“Really impressive experience, would pay to see something like this again.​”

“Stayed for the entire movie. That was awesome and felt like I was at the theater​, but better since I could mute those around me.”

Just finished watching Top Gun 3D, and it was even more incredible than expected.​ This is an amazing experience for anyone who wants to have their own theater. You really get that sense of scale and presence.

Thanks to everyone that attended our Top Gun 3D event, and we can’t wait to do more movie nights in the coming weeks!

Our international users asked us to bring VR movie nights to more countries. We listened to you! Our next VR movie night will be available in several countries around the world.

--

--