One Step forward..

Kanishka
Bikepacking & Me
Published in
3 min readSep 26, 2018
The view of Mighty Himalayas and the Gata Loops

In life, It is so important to take the first step forward and then the second and third. Because it is these steps that brings us closer to our dreams & destination. The moment you stop taking your step forward is the very moment your mind gives up and you would never experience magic of moving out of your comfort zone, magic of finding new horizon, new dreams and new destination. The joy of living your own dreams.

While I was riding my bicycle through Himalayas, every morning, I would look at steep mountain passes I was supposed to climb and they would instantly daunt the hell out of me. But I would still start my ride, slowly and gradually, one pedal at a time and moments later when I would look back, I would see I had already left the base far behind. It made me feel so proud of myself that I would smile with pride for a second till I realise how much climb is still left to be completed.

The view of Marhi Village from midway to Rohtang Pass

The challenges would increase with every pedal, from dipping temperature to thin air and strong winds, to almost zero visibility due to clouds on the road, with rains, hailstorm and snow, to saddle sores, strong sun, frost bites and sun burnt, the challenges would come for every corners of life and nature. But interestingly, every pedal forward would make me more stronger both physically and mentally. The thought of giving up never even came close to me and closer I would get to my destination, I would feel more proud about myself and all pumped up to push further ahead to reach the passes.

I always say that there is a very thin line between giving up and taking the next step forward. And magic only happens when you take the next step forward. All the hardship of climb I had talked above would were always rewarded with something magical. From the magical views of the valley and villages I left behind, to the golden peaks of Himalayas and new wonders of nature that would surprise me with very turning roads.

The emotions would spurt out from all sides, some which I had never experienced, of pride, achievement, living my dreams and self belief.

The joy of climbing and reaching some of the highest mountain passes. Priceless.

--

--

Kanishka
Bikepacking & Me

Juggling between work & life, finding way back into reading, sketching & love. Cycling, Bikepacking, Postcards, Chocolates & Monday lover. Blog — veloventure.in