Thanks to the Bikers of Himalayas!

Kanishka
Bikepacking & Me
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2018

The most interesting thing about the Manali Leh Highway is the number of bikers you would come across.

Street art on way to Leh, somewhere around the Thiksey Monastery.

One our way from Manali to Leh, we came across bikers of all kind, from Indians to foreigners, to people who respected nature and to many who felt joy in trashing places. There were many who drove rash to many who enjoyed stopping in places, catching up with locals, enjoying their cup of chai, maggi and more.

But this post is for all the bikers who crossed us and continuously cheered us at every stage of our ride by doing simple gestures like thumbs up, saluting and bowing down before us. These little gestures did wonders to us and kept us inspired to pedal more and more. There were moments when we would give up during the treacherous climbs but these small gestures by bikers kept us motivated, made us smile and made us feel proud about ourselves. They even showcased immense respect for cyclist and gave us ample space and comfort on the road by riding sensibly while we were around.

This post won’t be complete till I give my special thanks to those guys on bike who stopped for me just before the Tanglang La Pass and gave me some water to drink. I was freezing after the snowfall and rains, numb and swollen fingers, my clothes were wet, climbs were getting difficult and I had no water to drink. It was one of the most difficult moment of my entire trip and they both ended up being my life savers. I would love to thank them in person if I ever find them.

--

--

Kanishka
Bikepacking & Me

Juggling between work & life, finding way back into reading, sketching & love. Cycling, Bikepacking, Postcards, Chocolates & Monday lover. Blog — veloventure.in