Teacher Treks: Sharing Experiences With Colleagues

Bilingual Teacher Exchange
Bilingual Teacher Exchange
2 min readDec 5, 2018

My name is Daniel Vargas Julio and I am from Colombia, and a Math teacher at Roosevelt High School.

It was really amazing to be part of the Roosevelt High School community as an international Math teacher in my first year experience.

I have really enjoyed the Social Emotional Learning activities with my students which take place for 30 minutes every morning throughout the year. I have also liked the chance to talk to scholars and learn about different life styles, costumes, and the thinking processes of people of different cultures.

One of the most challenging tasks was teaching English through a content area, as I had previously worked as a ESL educator teaching Geometry. Belonging to the International Academy (IA) at RHS gave me the opportunity to go to New York and share experiences with other colleagues interested in global education.

Personally, my plan for success was to have a good rapport and empathy with the staff, scholars and community. I also participated in different events such as salsa dancing, coaching the baseball team, among others.

Finally I would like to keep on learning and living this wonderful experience as well as grow professionally.

_____

The BTE Teacher Treks series is a collection of short stories from educators native to countries ranging from Colombia and Honduras to El Salvador and Costa Rica, and teaching subjects spanning mathematics to social studies. The series profiles their challenges and triumphs teaching and living in a new country and sometimes in a new language.

--

--

Bilingual Teacher Exchange
Bilingual Teacher Exchange

Bilingual Teacher Exchange (BTE) is a one-stop recruitment and staffing source matching schools and bilingual teachers.