JoeysWorldTour Q&A

Nathaniel Williams
BILTHFEED
Published in
3 min readJan 14, 2017

YouTube personality Joseph Hernandez, known to the public as JoeysWorldTour, is a food reviewer with a unique take on the genre. Joey’s charming smile and great sense of humor, combined with the tasty food he reviews, has led to one of the most popular food review channels on YouTube. Before he reviewed food, he took part in many hilarious food challenges like the (since deleted) cinnamon challenge and chorizo sausage challenge, ultimately resulting in him being featured on Tosh.0. This, of course, gave his channel a huge boost and he currently has over 25 thousand subscribers and is close to 6 million total views overall. I was lucky enough to be given the opportunity to interview him over winter break.

What is your favorite food?
I am half Italian and half Mexican so I love equally Italian and Mexican food. Ok, lasagna!

What is your favorite video you’ve ever done?
My favorite video, which may surprise you, is “The Typewriter!” I am a big fan of comedian Jerry Lewis and it was my homage to him.

What was it like being featured on Tosh.0? Did it give your channel a boost?
It was a total surprise to be featured on Tosh.0! I was on my channel reading comments and someone wrote that they had just seen me on Tosh. I was shocked and blown away that one of my videos made it on TV! That was probably the most important variable for my channel’s exposure.

How do you stay positive all the time and do you have any advice for those who struggle with staying positive?
I want my channel to be a positive one with humor thrown in. I make sure to keep everything positive, and sometimes it’s tough when you have people on the internet whose only reason to be there is to leave foul and demeaning comments. As hard as it is, I ignore the “haters.” You can’t let anyone get you down, you need to keep the course and stay positive. I would just say, and this sounds cliche, you need to love yourself and be happy with what course in life you’re taking, and never let anyone put you down… Dare to dream!

How did you get into food reviewing on YouTube?
I started reviewing food by accident. I was unemployed and bored with all of the extra time I had, so I started posting food challenges on YouTube to pass the time until I found a job. My friend suggested I do a food review. Well, I am a shy person, so I did a food review in my truck. I had done a few, and the biggest food reviewer Daym Drops saw one of my videos and gave me the incentive to keep on making the reviews.

Have you ever considered reviewing other things like games, movies, etc?
I have thought about expanding my reviews to gaming and movies, but I would really need to do it right. Once I can figure out how to do that, I will probably give it a shot.

What do you do when you aren’t filming food reviews?
When I am not filming reviews, I am usually working on building my personal chef business, or just playing Xbox and hanging out with my family and friends!

What is your favorite burger place?
My favorite burger place is: In-N-Out Burger! A Double-Double with Animal Fries!

Check out Joey’s channel at YouTube.com/JoeysWorldTour and be sure to subscribe! And of course, as Joey would say, “PEACE!”

Photo provided by Joseph Hernandez.

[UPDATE: This Q&A was originally published 2/6/2015. Since the interview, JoeysWorldTour has earned over 200,000 subscribers and nearly 40 million total views overall.]

--

--