The Mistake I Made During Programming (Part 1)

Adrian Hartanto
Bina Nusantara IT Division
2 min readMar 31, 2022
Photo by Brett Jordan from Unsplash

In this article, I want to share some of the mistakes I made during my programming time as a software engineer.

1. Know what you want to solve

Back then I was given a task to create an API, I never find out what I want to solve clearly. When the task told me to process this data and here is the kind of output need to be. I just do as it needs to be. So when there is a minor error like I cannot retrieve the data or the amount of time need to process the data consume a lot of time. I never know the alternative way or place to retrieve the data. As for the processing data, I clearly just use the data explicitly not efficiently. If I know what this task wants me to do for a certain kind of API, maybe it won’t consume a lot of time to do that task.

2. Know a certain trick in coding

When I finished my work back then, I never read the code from my colleague's work. So, in my opinion, if you want to learn a lot about programming. You should check your partner's code when they do their task. Not only you can know about new tricks to process the data, but you also can know about business processes that happen besides your own work. The more you know, the easier you can do your task in the future. Like fixing or enhancing their API when you are the one assigned to their task.

3. Ask a colleague when solving for a long time

For this one, there is a proverb if you don’t ask you will lost on the road. Maybe when solving you can do it alone. But the amount of time for one problem needs to be solved is a waste of time. Because when you ask you can get the answer right away, then you can move on to solve another problem. Also if your colleagues don't know about it either, you can solve it together.

Final Thoughts

So these are the common mistake I made during my programming times. Maybe these mistakes I made can help you to excel in the programming world.

--

--