How I Unlearned Boredom

Daniel Bevan
Binapro
Published in
4 min readSep 6, 2016

I’ve been productive for the last 63,113,851.9 seconds of my life. That’s right, I haven’t been bored in over two years. I’ve simply had something to do every second of my life.

That doesn’t mean I work all the time. It simply means that I’m taking into consideration everything I’m doing everyday to help me get to where I want to go in life.

My level of productivity has skyrocketed and it’s all because I unlearned boredom.

The Main Reasons Why You’re Bored

There could be a million different reasons why someone is bored, but they probably fall under two universal categories:

  1. You’re dependent on others to bring you value.
  2. You lack compelling reasons.

3 Necessary Actions To Mental Freedom

Even though it’s been a while since I’ve actively thought of the following, I can pinpoint 3 important ACTIONS that I’ve exercised everyday up until now that allowed me to unlearn boredom.

Develop Your Why

Take the time to find out what really makes you happy. What brings you the biggest sense of fulfillment? It could be as broad as:

‘positively impacting as many people in the world as possible’ - Me

or as specific as

‘setting foot on Mars’ - Elon Musk

Either way, it has to be something that you put energy into mentally and physically. It should get you out of bed each and every morning.

Your why is the pillar that naturally guides you to your upcoming destination.

The possibilities are endless! However, if your why is to dominate in the NFL but you haven’t lifted weights in 3 months, that’s not your real why. Trash it and develop another.

Once you figure out your true why and commit to it, the world will get the hell out of your way.

Stop Consuming & Start Producing

Now I’m not saying you have to stop refreshing Drake and Rihanna’s timelines every 30 mi… actually, that’s exactly what I’m saying.

No offense, but Drake and Rihanna aren’t scanning their 50 million followers’ timelines all day. They, and many others, have become extremely valuable by spending an ENORMOUS amount of time working on their craft. As a result, they’re producing great work for the world every single day.

You can do the exact same. Stop spending precious time consuming everything everyone has to offer. Move to the other side of the spectrum. Create something that you can call yours. Something that people can’t wait to watch, read, listen to, join, etc.

You’ll begin to feel a sense of responsibility to produce. Once that happens, the last thing you’ll be is bored.

Long-Term Thinking > Short-Term Thinking

It’s an exciting feeling to know that you can literally control your future. You can take certain actions today that determine the outcomes of tomorrow. This is the beauty of long-term thinking!

When you’re thinking long-term, your mind never falls asleep.

However, when you’re thinking short-term, you’re always looking for the next quick thing to do. If it doesn’t come right away, you go into cruise mode. No elaborate thoughts or motivational vibes. Just empty, dormant thinking (or lack thereof).

Personally, switching to long-term thinking was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Life Takes On A Whole New Meaning

I beg you to develop your why, become a producer, and think long-term. You’ll feel a new sense of control over your life. That feeling will manifest itself into sheer confidence, raising your belief level with whatever it is that you want to do.

And I’ll tell you one thing, you’ll NEVER experience the feeling of boredom ever again.

This Is Too Important To Only Read Once!!!

Be honest with yourself. There’s more to life than playing 2K17 and watching re-runs of ‘Friends’. Grasp these concepts. Do yourself a favor. Take actionable steps necessary to increase your level of happiness. That’s what life’s all about in the end.

{If you need help with this, hit me up personally at @db_binapro on Twitter.}

When you find yourself doing nothing, come back to this post. Save or Bookmark this story!!!

Thanks for reading! If this was valuable to you, we have tons more to offer on Snapchat — thisisbinapro

Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

--

--

Daniel Bevan
Binapro
Editor for

Founder & CEO @ Binapro https://binapro.co | 20 year old entrepreneur | massive value provider #Humanity #Innovation