Binar Academy: The Freemium and The Family

Eko Irsyad
Binar Academy
Published in
3 min readJul 20, 2018
Photo by Yomex Owo on Unsplash

Back then, I had small conversation with my coffee-mate at Studio Kopi. Unusually, we talked about career and other important things in our life and how it’s been going. I realized that I was not good enough at almost anything. Neither on programming where my life has been sacrificed into it. I found out that I was wrong about the concept of being a self-taught developer. The hard part of being self-taught developer is the path are tough and shadowed with uncertainty.

Time passed, and out of nowhere my friend suggested me an academy called Binar Academy. I looked up for their website and thought Binar is the one. Immediately, I registered as Android developer and luckily passed the test. I went into Batch #7, and waited for almost 3 months until the first met.

My journey started at Savita Inn, this was my first met with other students and mentors. Students grouped up into five and I got the fourth (Team D). In every team there are back end engineer, front end engineer, mobile (android and iOS) developer, user interface and user experience designer, quality assurance engineer, and project manager. I was pumped up full of ideas, because at the end of academic process, every team should make a product.

Before developing a product, I got basic classes from masters two times a week. In basic class, master taught me about concept of Object-oriented programming and GIT flow. After that, I started the focus class, in this session Master taught me about life cycle, common libraries used by developer and other things. Meanwhile we were on focus classes, we developed our project team too.

Talking about project, us, Team D developed an application called Museek (Musician Seeker). An application that connecting musician and event organizer, even musician and musician. In Museek you can hire a musician for your event, with a single click!!

We were using Scrum as project development methodology, Ruby on rails for back end, Vue.js framework for the front end, and Java with Android Studio for android. We had so much fun in developing this application. There are always up and down but we end up with this absolute great application.

I called Museek great because our member come to Binar Academy from zero to hero. Our back end developers, Martha and Randy. They were had zero knowledge about back end things. Even Martha needs to quit her job so she can focus in her academy. Hard work never lied, believe me.

Come to an end, we had our Showcase where a lot of judges from big companies came to our presentation. Every judges can give a member a golden ticket so the member who get the golden ticket had chance to speed dating with them. And I got one too 😍

Hopefully, this story and lessons I learned will take you to another perspective. Personally, self-taught learn is never a straight road or maybe till take you off the road. I need someone to guide me when stackoverflow does not have solution. Well everybody has their own path and this is my path.

Thank you my team, Binar Academy, masters and other teams at Binar. I hope we can make our future better with this journey. Cheers!!

--

--