Plant talk: Carex buchananii

The Celeb Interview

Michelle Kamerath
Biophilia Magazine
5 min readDec 29, 2016

--

Ever forget that fish aquariums are a furniture option? Every time I see one (twice a year at my dentist appt) it’s like, oh yeah! That’s a thing you can put next to your couch? #design

In the same way, I forget about Carex buchananii, until I see it hiding in a garden corner. It’s a smaller grass that’s too often overlooked because of its looks: in the height of health this grass is 100% brown. Well, a tawny shade of port, streaked with ruby and rust. In a sea of green, Carex buchananii is sort of a punk plant. I love it!

But it’s so misunderstood! If only I was Jimmy Fallon** and plants could talk, I would invite it onto my show, do a meme-y interview and everyone would get it. Wait. Maybe that’s just what the dentist ordered …*cue tv dream music*

*Pause for applause* | original photo credit NBC

Oh hi! How are you? Thanks for being here!

No problem! It's winter so I'm busy but good.

So, tell us where you’re living these days.

Mostly in moist, well drained places. You know, I was born in New Zealand, so I feel most at home similar situations--zones that are between 5 and 9 if you're down with the USDA Hardiness Zone Map. If you're not, just know that I don't love winter in North Dakota or summer in Phoenix. (Who does?)

Carex buchananii, almost famous | photos by Alex Friend
Look out, Emma Stone! You’ve got some competition!

So I was just reading about your latest role in bio-swales (AKA rain gardens). Can you tell everyone a bit more about that?

Yeah! I’m so pumped about it! Basically, cities are building more green design into the urban landscape. I'm getting used more and more in bio-swale design because I can deal with occasional flooding AND drought. Which is rare. Humble brag.

Amazing! Tell us more!

Yeah, bio-swales are basically deliberately planted ditches. Think of the planted spaces between sidewalks and streets. There's growing interest in using those spaces to absorb stormwater so that runoff doesn't overwhelm sewer systems. Also, bio-swales can help pollutants from accumulating downstream by absorbing and filtering them "at the source."

When you're designing a rain garden you need plants that can deal with varying levels of moisture because sometimes these areas have water but not always, and I'm one of them. Also, I look great pretty much all year, if you're into brunettes.

Sometimes there’s more water, sometimes less.

You’re kind of a big deal.

I mean, I like to think I'm good at my job.

Do you think people sometimes think you’re — don’t take this the wrong way — but … dead?

Yeah, cause I'm brown all the time? I get that a lot. It’s fine. Most people think you have to be green to be a thing. I’m not.

Are there other plants that you like working with?

I do real well with other plants that can deal with a little bit of moisture. So, Cornus sericea 'Flaviramea' AKA Yellow Twig Dogwood is one of my favorite partners. In the winter, when we're backlit, we look so good together!

If you're into ombre, I've done strong work with other rust colored plants like Helenium 'Moerheim Beauty' and of course Chocolate Cosmos, and Dahlia 'Mystic Haze.' I’ve also done great work with blue colored perennials, like Flax, or self-seeding annuals like Nigella.

Coming soon to a garden near you: Blue Flax (left), Carex (center), and Nigella (right)

Nigella is amazing!

I really love working with her! She looks so delicate but is just an unflappable performer in a lot of garden conditions. And, can we talk about her stage name, "Love in a Mist?" It's like straight out of a Merchant Ivory film.

Plus, Nigella has edible seeds. (Shout out to all the Indian cooks out there!)

So, what else are you working on?

Oh, you know. Fall planters. That's where I was discovered and I never get tired of hanging out with kale and pansies. I kind of own the fall look for containers and why mess with it?

Lately I've been working with designers like Piet Oudolf at the Battery Park garden. I've been doing some simple shows, when it's just me and maybe one type of fern planted en masse--that's a really fresh, modern look.

OH! I think we have a clip of your work on that project

Any last thoughts?

Yes! Here's how to deal with me in the long run: every three years or so I prefer to be dug out of the ground, sliced in half through the root mass, and replanted. It looks like an outtake from Hostel but I promise I prefer it. It's an easy way of keeping me fresh.

Slice, dice, replant. Plants never scream.

Great! Thanks for joining me for this interview in my mind! Everyone, look for Carex buchananii at your local plant store and try it in your garden!

*Fade out while playing “Brown Eyed Girl.”
**Jimmy Fallon does not actually endorse plants. Even really nice ones.

Biophilia is a collective of plant professionals. It is also a publication. We publish new articles, photos, and how-to’s here several times a week. We welcome submissions, feedback, seed packets and dandelion fluff. Kindly address all those things to >> plantsvnature@gmail.com.

--

--