Birdies Talks pt.1: friendly chirps from Gran Canaria.

Medea S
Birdies in Foreign Nests
6 min readDec 27, 2020

Today I’m going to interview M. about her past experiences far from home. It will be one of a series of articles where we will hear from other birdies scattered around the world. Let’s go!

China. Lanterns in Yangshuo in Guilin, Guangxi © All rights to the interviewee

Hello, fellow birdie! Where do you currently live?

I’m currently at home in Gran Canaria, Spain.

Tell us about yourself: what do you do? What are your hobbies?

At the moment, I’m looking for employment while volunteering for an NGO. It’s a daycare centre for people with dementia. In the past years, I studied Psychology and I got a master’s degree in Public Policy. Apart from that, I really like digital painting and reading. I’m a fan of videogames and I sometimes do yoga.

Even if you’re currently at home you’ve been an expat in the past, working and studying in different countries. Can you describe your experiences abroad? And, what made you decide to leave?

Yes, I went to pursue my studies in Edinburgh and that’s where I got my Master’s. The reason I left in the first instance was that I couldn’t find the postgraduate course I wanted in Spain. I found the ideal course at the University of Edinburgh, which turned out to be a good choice since English was the only foreign language I was enough fluent in and also because I was aware of the quality of the UK’s higher-level education. Then, I was looking for something to do after my graduation and applied for a European Voluntary Service project in Romania that matched my interests. It was a 7-month-long project during which I, along with three other volunteers, had to design and deliver informal educational activities on health and finance. Last but not least, I spent one month traveling around Asia, touching China, Macao, and Hong Kong.

Romania. Piata Sfatului in Brașov © All rights to the interviewee

What did you like most about these experiences?

Above all, I enjoyed the multicultural environment. Being an international student in the UK, I had the chance to meet people of different nationalities and backgrounds. I loved learning about their cultures and countries. Another aspect I’ve come to appreciate is the possibility to rethink your own culture: by living abroad, you become more aware of some traits of your culture which perhaps you would have never questioned before. Also, you get to notice the differences as well as the similarities between the countries you’ve lived in for longer periods of time. My trip to China made me reflect on this: you would think Chinese culture and Spanish culture are very distant in several respects. However, if you think about it that is not entirely true — people commuting to work on the subway, people meeting friends…at the end of the day the differences are not so many. What may change is the way they interact with each other, the communication patterns, the values they share, or the food they eat, but the essential idea is the same everywhere. When traveling you experience as well the stark contrasts existing between different societies: for example, on one hand, I think about the advanced technology and the great light shows of Hong Kong and, on the other, I think of the old gas stove in my Romanian flat which looked like a relic from the 60s and which required a match to be lit. I’ve always loved this aspect of discovery that comes with traveling.

Romania. Maior Gheorghe Pastia Municipal Theatre in Focșani © All rights to the interviewee
Hong Kong. The light show “A symphony of lights” as viewed from the Victoria Harbour © All rights to the interviewee

What is that you didn’t like instead? Anything you missed from your home country?

There are always things you miss when you leave. In my case it is my family and friends, the food, as well as the places I would usually go to. Generally speaking, when I’m abroad I miss that sense of familiarity that comes with living in your own culture — I mean implicitly knowing how people behave and talk, how things work or happen. And this is linked to the biggest issue I face during my experiences abroad. There are some traits that may seem rude to people from other cultures and lead to misunderstandings. Spanish people, for example, tend to be very straightforward in their communication while Chinese people are usually more indirect — if they have to criticise you, they’ll do this in the softest way possible. In such cases, you need to pick all the hints they’re giving you and be careful about how you speak too. Then, the fact that you’re not using your mother tongue makes it more difficult to express yourself and your feelings appropriately. Such a process takes effort. I’m not saying that there are better cultures than others: there are just different ways of doing the same things, as well as different ideas of what is polite and appropriate. Anyway, even if you speak the same language you can still cause misunderstandings. I’ve noticed this with some Latin American friends of mine; it can be how you phrase a question, the tone of voice you use, or your non-verbal communication. I enjoy such cross-cultural interactions because they are rewarding, they make you more careful and open-minded but, at the same time, they require a lot of effort.

When was your first trip abroad and where to?

It was a holiday in France when I was 12. I visited Paris, Versailles, and Disneyland!

Why did you feel the need to go in the first instance? Material needs — like saying I couldn’t find a job — or feelings?

Definitely feelings — I have always loved traveling and getting to know other cultures. As much as I love my parents and my island, I needed a break. Then I found the perfect postgraduate course in Edinburgh and this was a further motivation for leaving. It felt daunting at first since I was going to pursue my studies in a different country with a different language and, before that, I had never been on my own for such a long time. Eventually, though, it was a good opportunity to challenge myself and get more open-minded.

China. The view from the pagoda on the Karst Hills in Yangshuo Park, Guilin © All rights to the interviewee

Do you feel like you changed because of your experiences abroad?

Yes, I find that they have shaped my thinking patterns and my temperament, making me more tolerant and patient. I’ve learned to adapt myself. What’s more, they boosted my self-confidence because I succeeded in difficult tasks — I know I can do this! I think, by living abroad, you better understand yourself and your own culture.

How do you feel about being back at home and the idea of, perhaps, leaving again?

As I said, I’ve become more aware of the strengths and weaknesses of my home country and culture. Some of these aspects become more evident when you’re far away. In my case, I think now opportunities are lacking in Spain, which would be one reason for leaving. The pandemic here added to the previous political and economic crisis; being a country hugely relying on tourism, Spain was hit very hard. This doesn’t mean I now value less my home country. I still feel the thirst to go abroad but that’s because I’ve always loved it, not necessarily because I don’t like Spain anymore. Material opportunities and cultural values are two separate things for me.

What is your plan for the near future?

I want to keep volunteering for the NGO I’m currently helping and try to get a job in the field of social policies or international development.

Last but not least: if you could choose, what kind of bird would you be?

I think I would be a parrot. They’re smart — they can talk, imitate different kinds of noises, and also make pranks!

China. The tower Bell of Xi’an in Shaanxi © All rights to the interviewee

Thank you, M., for sharing your experience with us!

--

--

Medea S
Birdies in Foreign Nests

Italian in Scotland. On this channel, you’ll find personal thoughts, articles about history and cultural heritage. And maybe about books and films.