5 shader techniques for film-like image processing

Use Metal Shading Langage

Hayato Kuno
birdman
2 min readOct 15, 2018

--

Created by my app ( FastFilm Camera )
Another example by me

Overview

There're various kinds of textures of film-style photos, but most of them are combinations of the following simple processing. I will introduce them along with shader codes.

Please refer to my previous article for how to use metal shader.

5 shader techniques

1. Sharpen

It weakens blur and generates unique noise.

2. Chromatic Aberration

It's prone to occur in inexpensive lenses such as toy cameras.

3. High Contrast / Low Contrast

Contrast(vision) - Wikipedia

4. High Saturation / Low Saturation

Colorfulness - Wikipedia

5. Blend (Add)

It's composition of multiple textures for Light leaks, Film grain and Vignetting.

Thank you for reading. Your claps are important for me. πŸ§Ÿβ€β™‚οΈπŸ§Ÿβ€β™‚οΈ

--

--