Earlybird Welcomes Dr. Alejandro Restrepo Arango, Expanding our Health Fellowship

Earlybird Venture Capital
Earlybird's view
Published in
4 min readMar 14, 2023

Dr. Alejandro Restrepo Arango has a robust academic background, holding an MSc and PhD in Neuroscience from the University of Göttingen. After a short postdoctoral fellowship at the Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Sciences, he is excited to transition into VC and apply his expertise to support the commercialization of innovative healthcare technologies that can transform patient care.

Earlybird is excited to welcome Alejandro as Health Investment Fellow!

1) Welcome Alejandro! Can you tell us about your background and what inspired you to pursue a career in science?

In the last years of high school, I decided to pursue a career in science. As I was especially fascinated by cells and their inner workings, I opted for biology. From the beginning of my studies, I knew I had made the right choice. During my second year, I developed a strong interest in neuroscience, which led me to pursue a Masters’s and PhD at the International Max Planck Research School for Neuroscience in Göttingen.

My research focus was on how neuronal activity modulates cerebral blood flow to maintain the metabolic activity of cells. If this process is damaged, brain activity is impaired, leading to several neurological diseases like stroke, Alzheimer’s disease, or vascular dementia.

Fortunately, I was able to conduct my research at the Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Sciences. Having access to very well-equipped research facilities allowed me to dig deeper, particularly into the relationship between blood flow and white matter, and secured the success of my PhD.

2) Why did you decide to join Earlybird’s Health Fellowship Program?

During a PhD program, It’s very common to be so focused on one topic that you may lose sight of new and exciting developments in other scientific fields. However, I wanted to explore the “bigger picture”, so I talked to my friend Dr. Victor Bustos, an entrepreneur in residence at Apollo Health Ventures in Berlin, and discovered the world of Healthcare VC.

I was immediately drawn to the opportunity to learn about many different startups and companies working on innovative ideas; it was a perfect blend of my love for science and real-world applications of discoveries.

I searched for the best European health and life science Venture Capital firms offering fellowships, and Earlybird soared above the rest! In just a few weeks, I’ve already seen many exciting and innovative companies, and I’m thrilled to have this opportunity.

3) Based on your experience, which scientific field(s) do you believe have the greatest potential for groundbreaking discoveries?

In my opinion, two fields stand out for their potential to make groundbreaking discoveries.

At the risk of sounding biased, the first field is neuroscience. The brain and its functions are exquisitely fascinating and complicated. Because of this complexity, and despite numerous attempts, the success of cures for neurological disorders has been limited. However, any future therapy that proves effective will be revolutionary.

The second field with enormous potential is the development of new antibiotics. With the rise of microbial resistance to antibiotics, healthcare urgently needs innovative solutions. I believe synthetic biology holds the key to overcoming this challenge. Although this field is relatively new, there are already excellent programs supporting company creation, such as the iGEM competition.

4) After a couple of weeks with us, which is the most interesting startup you came across and why?

Two companies captured my interest: Perfuze and Mogrify.

Perfuze, an Earlybird Health portfolio company, shares my passion for improving patients’ lives with cerebrovascular diseases, such as stroke. Their vision resonates with mine, making them particularly compelling.

Mogrify, an innovative direct cellular reprogramming platform, caught my attention because of its cutting-edge technology, which is able to reprogram cells in vivo. I believe Mogrify’s approach holds the potential to enable personalized therapies for a range of diseases that have previously been untreatable.

5) How do you balance the need for scientific rigor with the fast-paced nature of venture capital investing?

As scientists, we understand the importance of data and consultation with key opinion leaders in different fields to ensure grasping the science behind it. Our academic background equips us to quickly catch up in areas where we may not be experts. Furthermore, our strength lies in teamwork and leveraging each other’s expertise to optimize the process.

In healthcare VC, if my scientific knowledge aligns well with a company, I can provide relevant inputs, freeing up another team member to focus on aspects that are their forte. This collaborative approach helps us work faster and more efficiently.

6) What advice would you give to academics interested in transitioning to a career in healthcare investing?

I would suggest to start reading about biotech, to understand its inner workings. There are many helpful media outlets, such as STAT News and Fierce Biotech, as well as books like The Business of Venture Capital by Mahendra Ramsinghani. Additionally, I recommend two podcasts I used to listen to while conducting my experiments in the microscopy room, The Long Run with Luke Timmerman and Personalized Medicine Podcast by Oleksander Yagensky.

However, what I consider the most important step, is to reach out to startups and get involved in their projects. Even if you have a pure research academic background, like myself, this is your chance to apply your knowledge and experience, transferring it into practice. If you lack investing experience, many Venture Capital companies offer fellowships precisely for this purpose. I highly recommend applying, as I did with Earlybird.

Thanks, Alejandro!

Are you interested in learning more about our Fellowship or applying for future openings? Please visit our Fellowship Page.

Keep in touch with Alejandro on LinkedIn and Twitter

Interview edited by Elena Marchesi.

--

--

Earlybird Venture Capital
Earlybird's view

Earlybird is a venture capital investor focused on European technology companies. Read more at: https://medium.com/birds-view or www.earlybird.com