Want to Join a Startup? Try a VC first!

How to Transfer VC Internship Skills into a Portfolio Startup Role

Earlybird Venture Capital
Earlybird's view
5 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Fynn Minkus of Aleph Alpha and Emily zur Nedden of CELUS share insights from their Earlybird Internships

Are you interested in working at a cutting-edge startup but don’t know where to begin? Learn from former interns how working at a VC can kickstart your career in the startup world.

Startups allow talented people to gain hands-on experience, work with founders, and be a true part of building a product. However, with many startups emerging, it’s hard to know how to get your foot in the door. We have an unusual fast track for you: start with VC.

VCs expose interns to various startups through an investor lens, which can be valuable to founders later when former VC interns join their teams. At Earlybird, interns are often keen to transition into working full-time for one of our portfolio companies. We try to provide introductions to portfolio companies, advice on salary benchmarking, and networking opportunities.

Enough from our side. Now let’s hear from the former interns, Fynn Minkus and Emily zur Nedden, who will provide you insights into how and why they transitioned to the startup world through VC.

👫 How did your experience as an intern at Earlybird influence your transition to a startup?

Fynn: I studied management for my Master’s in Management, and at the time I was researching a lot with plans to do a PhD. At one point in my research, I had to look into how inheritance tax works in Japan but could not find the specific law in any common tax database, and that’s when I started coding. Building a simple web scraper, I was able to answer these questions. From that moment I knew I wanted to get into tech, but I didn’t quite know how to do that having just graduated from a business program. In my master’s thesis, I also trained a neural network to classify tax law, so I started to get very excited about AI specifically.

I decided to do one internship at a VC and one internship in consulting — just to see what the best next step was in terms of getting into tech. At Earlybird, I saw so many business ideas every day and was given a lot of responsibility. I shared with my colleagues that I would like to work at the intersection of business strategy and AI and asked them if they knew of any companies that would be a good fit. That’s when Earlybird kindly introduced me to their portfolio company Aleph Alpha.

Emily: Initially, I did not think I would be a good fit for a startup because I wouldn’t describe myself as a person who is comfortable taking risks. However, my perspective shifted during my internship at Earlybird, where I became fascinated with watching trends form before they emerged in popular discourse. It was an interesting internship, but I recognized that to do a great job as an investor, I needed firsthand experience in a startup. I checked out the startups in Earlybird’s portfolio and found a few that fit my interests. When I talked to my colleagues there, they offered good suggestions based on their direct connections with those companies. I was specifically interested in platform strategy, which was also a focus of my Master’s and eventually, I found a perfect match for me.

⛷️ What specific skills did you gain in VC that proved valuable when transitioning to a startup?

Fynn: I learned first and foremost how to handle multiple work streams. In VC you need to know what to prioritize and how to manage your time; that became 100% transferable to Aleph Alpha. At a startup, you get multiple and diverse requests which all require management. For example, we got a lot of inbound offers from great companies that would like to work with us, but at the current stage, we must focus on prioritizing.

Emily: While at Earlybird, I was finishing my Master’s which was very academic. Earlybird allowed me to enhance my analytical skills and interviewing skills which were valuable for the business world. I juggled field research for my Master’s thesis while working at Earlybird, so having the opportunity to mix my academic research with the business world, made me a better researcher overall. Today, I work closely with many of our users or potential users. I am confident in asking the right questions, a skill I developed while being exposed to the sourcing process at Earlybird.

🚀 What motivated you to pursue opportunities within startups rather than traditional corporate roles after your internship?

Fynn: The corporate environment provides a clear path for your career and very structured feedback, but I was interested in the field of AI and a fast-paced environment where I could make a direct impact. At Aleph Alpha there isn’t bureaucracy or hierarchy preventing you from solving the problems that interest you. I also like to see through strategy from inception to implementation, which isn’t always possible in traditional corporate roles. Overall, I find it much more rewarding.

Emily: In my roles at PwC, BMW, and another smaller corporation, I learned first-hand how challenging it can be to stand out in large organizations with complex structures. Joining CELUS, the smallest company I’ve been a part of, has been a positive change. Despite its size, it’s where I’ve experienced the most rapid personal growth and impact; I’ve had the opportunity to engage with various departments and aspects of the business, rather than being restricted to a single department’s bubble. Attending a recent women in electronics networking event, I gained insight into distinct challenges women face in corporate settings within the industry. This made me value CELUS even more, where everyone’s contributions are recognized equally. The startup environment not only offered me unique growth opportunities but also emphasized the significance of an inclusive workplace culture.

💪 What is the best part about working for a startup?

Fynn: It’s the mixture between vision and impact. Of course, it’s a tough mission, Aleph Alpha is competing with some of the world’s best companies in this new industrial revolution, but we know this technology will change everything. Working on something that will change everything in an environment where you can have a real impact is the best part for me.

Emily: The best part about working for a startup is the direct impact you can have. Seeing your efforts translate into tangible results, whether they’re positive or not, is incredibly rewarding. It adds an exciting dimension to work, where every action feels meaningful, and even setbacks provide valuable lessons for growth.

Additionally, the team spirit in a startup environment is amazing.A unique energy forms when everyone works towards a common goal, often with limited resources. This fosters a supportive and collaborative atmosphere where each team member’s contribution is valued.

🎁 Wrapping up

Working at a VC can be the perfect springboard into the fast-paced and rewarding environment of startups, where your contributions significantly impact from day one. Take it from former interns like Fynn Minkus and Emily zur Nedden — working at a VC gives you a backstage pass to the startup scene. A big thank you to them for speaking with us!

Thanks for reading. Check out our current job openings, and stay tuned for more Ecosystem Insights here on our Medium publication, Earlybird’s View!

--

--

Earlybird Venture Capital
Earlybird's view

Earlybird is a venture capital investor focused on European technology companies. Read more at: https://medium.com/birds-view or www.earlybird.com