LinkedIn’s Verification System Is Sexist

It’s not the first time the social media platform has faced gender bias accusations

Ali Hall
Bitchy

--

I’m at a disadvantage on LinkedIn for being a woman.

I can’t verify my LinkedIn profile because the name on my profile does not match the name on my passport.

I appreciate that, as far as problems go, this is pretty first-world. But after opening up a conversation in a Facebook group, I realise I’m not alone with this problem.

But the good news is, I come with solutions.

I got married last year, and I took my husband’s surname, as 79% percent of women do when they marry. My passport has six years left before expiry, so it remains in my maiden name. Financially logical.

In 2023, LinkedIn introduced a new verification system. Sounds like a good idea, right? I mean, we all like to know that the people we interact with online are who they say they are.

One of the benefits of LinkedIn’s “free and fast” verification system is its promise to boost the visibility of our LinkedIn profile, and by being verified, we gain credibility and trust.

As part of the verification process, we need a formal ID, in my case, my passport, to confirm our name.

--

--

Ali Hall
Bitchy
Editor for

✍Well-being, feminism & personal growth. Childfree & owner of Life Without Children. Lover of trail running & dogs. Also at abnormallynormal.substack.com