Our Society Has a Menopause Problem and We Need To Talk About It

The glaring lack of support for menopausal women means they must advocate for themselves, but there’s good news

June Kirri
Bitchy

--

From Canva by Author

“It is a well-known fact…that after women have lost their genital function” they become “quarrelsome, vexatious and overbearing.”

~ Sigmund Freud, neurologist

Hair loss, chronic migraine headaches, psoriasis, brain fog, and chills.

For the past four years, I’ve been dealing with these symptoms, not knowing they could be related to menopause.

I initially thought my lack of knowledge was because I went to school in the ’80s. To my dismay, I found out that even now, most women under 40 in the United States are not taught about menopause at schools.

And most doctors aren’t educated enough about menopause to help guide women during this period of significant life transition, leaving women to fend for themselves.

Perimenopause typically begins in your 40s, while menopause starts on average around 51 and can last for five to ten years.

--

--

June Kirri
Bitchy

🇯🇵🇳🇵🇺🇸 in 🇩🇪 | Publisher of Bitchy & The Point of View | Ex- journalist & magazine editor I Feminism, women, & motherhood | https://linktr.ee/junekirri