Why I’m Taking a Stand for Women Runners

It’s not cheering, it’s jeering and leering.

Ali Hall
Bitchy

--

My nervous system is aggravated.

Yesterday, I was running along a lovely trail here in Scotland. Up ahead were three beings — not still boys, but not yet men.

As I passed, one of them whooped and let out loud, unnecessary shouts.

I’m 42 and have been running since I was 12. I’ve lost count of the times the male species has acted inappropriately and even illegally to me during a run.

But this was one time too many.

So I stopped. I turned around and stepped toward the 6'2 being, who, by this point, was almost cowering behind his friend.

“Really? Really? You don’t shout after female runners!”

I looked him square in the eyes. He shrugged and suggested he was just “cheering” me on.

“If I had been a man would you have shouted after me? You’re clearly decent lads, so do the decent thing and don’t shout after female runners.”

With that, I turned on my heels and continued on my run.

It’s not cheering, it’s jeering and leering. And if otherwise decent lads don’t understand this, what hope is there for the rest of them?

--

--

Ali Hall
Bitchy

✍Well-being, feminism & personal growth. Childfree & owner of Life Without Children. Lover of trail running & dogs. Also at abnormallynormal.substack.com