WOMEN & MONEY

Why Is It So Hard For Me To Ask For Money?

Even when I worked hard for it

Maria Garcia
Bitchy
Published in
8 min readMay 14, 2024

--

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels

“10€ an hour is a lot of money,” The eyes on their inquisitive and slightly judgmental faces widened as though I had just said 100€ an hour.

“Couldn’t you do a little discount? We are family after all…” I looked at them blankly, doing all sorts of scattered math in my head. I get it, paying a babysitter 10€ an hour on top of whatever money you were planning on spending over dinner is a lot.

At least in this economy.

Life is expensive. And having kids doesn’t make things easier. But the truth is, I have to pay rent, too, with or without kids. So, without a moment of hesitation, I responded by saying,

“People are willing to pay it. Plus, I learned my lesson after I babysat quite a wealthy family, and they paid me only 5€ an hour without any extra transport money.”

They quickly shook their heads in agreement, muttering, “No wonder they were wealthy,” but their expressions remained: Who did I think I was charging so much money to take care of a couple of kids?

Babysitting is a great extra source of money when you’re a freelancer and need some extra cash in between your many projects. I’ve done tutoring, translating, and other…

--

--