When it Comes to BSV, Stay Cool

Nicholas Bevelock
Bitness
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2019

The name “Dr. Craig Wright” is more often paired with colorful opinions than not. On social media, the reigning opinion is one that labels Dr. Wright a ‘fraud,’ and celebrates provoking defamation lawsuits. No matter the man’s legitimacy, this is devolving into insanity.

Pump the brakes.

I’m agnostic to the various bitcoin chains and their claims to the crown — BTC and BSV both have vibrant development communities doing exciting things, with competing ideas for how to handle scaling. May the best chain win.

I do, however, see an echo chamber forming in the vocal BTC camp, comprised of equal parts entitlement and codescension. It’s very reminiscent of the reigning Silicon Valley paradigm. This does nothing for the legitimacy of BSV (again, I’m agnostic), but what this does tell me is the thinkers and doers in BTC might be too arrogant to react the way they should to challengers.

A distinction between absence of proof and proof of absence must be made: Dr. Wright failing to publicly prove he is Satoshi is not proof that he isn’t Satoshi. If this is the standard of proof for calling Dr. Wright a fraud, naysayers should be absolutely petrified by Gavin Andressen’s claims that he is in fact Satoshi.

Risk = Probability of Event ⨉ Magnitude of Event

Multiply whatever chance you give Dr. Wright of being Satoshi Nakamoto by the influence access to 1 million BTC could have on the crypto space.

I’m not taking a stance on block size. I’m not endorsing Dr. Wright or staking a claim that he is Satoshi. I’m not even trying to make a point on group-think. I want to caution all my friends in crypto. Anything can happen in this space; check your confirmation biases and hedge your risk, please.

Everyone who is here found a hidden gem. I want all of you stick around and grow wealthy. Be cool.

--

--