Idle Hands Review

Your New Favorite TV Show That Doesn't Exist… Yet

Lauren McGrath
Bits By Tits!

--

from Idle Hands on Vinemo

When I first watched Broad City it woke up in me something that I didn’t realize I was hungry for. A comedy TV series about the friendship of two morally questionable women.

Previous to watching Broad City my favorite comedies revolved around these types of morally questionable characters. Most of whom were men. Shows like Seinfeld and It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia were my go-to comedies.

Now don’t get me wrong, these shows don’t just have men in them. Dee and Elaine are hilarious characters that are well written and well-acted. They’re also, though, the only female friend in a group of men.

In shows like Seinfeld and It’s Always Sunny, we get to see the different types of moral ambiguity in men and the way it plays out in their friendships. We can see the chaotic nature of Kramer and Charlie. The self-serving rationalizing of George and Denis. The apathy of Jerry and Mac.

The point being, humor rooted in moral ambiguity has shaped and constructed a vast array of male characters on TV. There simply aren’t as many female characters that are given this type of screentime and exploration.

While there’s a big group of different kinds of funny men, there’s one woman…

--

--

Lauren McGrath
Bits By Tits!

I’m a comedian! Also a writer of things I feel strongly about.Unfortunately,I was just diagnosed with a disorder that makes me feel strongly towards everything.