Stop Telling Women To Do A “Sex Strike” in Post-Roe America

You’re making it worse

Brooklyn Reece
Bits of Brooklyn

--

Photo by JEFERSON GOMES on Unsplash

The right to abortion has now been overturned. Women woke up today with a right to their own bodies, and then six people ripped it away.

I can’t describe how I’m feeling right now — I’m definitely angry, but I’m also in a state of shock and struggling to process it fully.

There is no shortage of input from the public, though. I’ve heard a variety of opinions from a lot of different people, and some people who claim to have no opinion at all or are completely silent on the issue (which I believe is a stance in itself).

The newest and most out-of-the-box idea I’ve been hearing lately is the idea that since women have lost their right to abortion, they should go on a sex strike (at least, if they’re a woman who is sleeping with a cis man or an AMAB person). I’ll also add that I have heard this suggestion almost exclusively from men.

According to these people, it makes sense: that way, women won’t worry about getting pregnant because they’ll be completely abstinent, and they’ll simultaneously motivate people, especially men, to advocate for abortion again because sex is being withheld from them. Smart idea, right?

--

--

Brooklyn Reece
Bits of Brooklyn

(she/her) Writer. Teacher. Leftist. City enthusiast. Spreading love through words. Find me on IG @brooklynxreece or email me: brooklynreece.writer@gmail.com.