The Design Bootcamp Experience

Sneha Kad
Bits of Good
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2021

Last semester, Bits of Good ran Design Bootcamp 1.0, our first rendition of an intensive beginner crash course to teach design concepts and methodologies. This twin flame to our developer bootcamp was meant to introduce Georgia Tech students to the design practices that our product designers implement on BoG project teams. Huan and Jason, both former Directors of Design for Bits of Good, led the inaugural group of designers through the process from initial product and user research through final product designs and presentations.

The process was fast-paced but thorough. To get a more student-oriented depiction of the Design experience, we asked a few members of the bootcamp to talk about the process and what they’ve learned from it. Divita Chillakuru, one of the participants, said the following:

“As we’re almost half of the way through the design bootcamp, it’s been lovely to see how far we’ve gotten within this relatively short timespan. We’ve been submitting a Weekly UI assignment, which is a fun way to ensure we keep practicing regularly. I love being able to scroll back and clearly see how our designs have been improving week by week, along with the adorable camaraderie being built through the peer critiques. The ongoing case study that we work on for the entirety of the bootcamp prepares us for the UX side of things as we learn more about designing for a specific user group. I enjoy how Jason and Huan balance their workshops by teaching us the techniques of using the software with the user research end of it.”

As she described, the structure of the bootcamp was divided into weekly sessions that required hands-on design work from students. They also worked in groups to work on their capstone projects which funneled the design experience they gained over the course of the semester into one final exhibition. As Karis Wang, another bootcamp member, enjoyed her group experience saying:

“After being at Design Bootcamp, I can say I feel much more confident in my design and research skills. The past fun and insightful weeks with my fellow bootcampers have made me a more curious designer and challenged me to explore designs outside my comfort zone. Right now, Joyce and I are doing a case study about redesigning the MARTA experience to help Atlanta riders. I’m super excited to see how everything turns out by the end of the semester!”

While bootcampers worked in groups of 2–3 on their individual capstone projects, the group feedback sessions included the entire cohort as well as Huan and Jason, building a community of designers learning together even if it was all through zoom. Singer Cheng touches on the community aspect emphasizing:

“I’ve been really enjoying being a part of the design bootcamp this semester as not only do I get the opportunity to improve upon my design skills with the weekly workshops, but I have also met so many super talented and cool people through this!! I love getting to see what everyone creates and being able to constantly give & receive feedback from each other, which is such a valuable experience as a designer. I would say that especially with everything being virtual this semester, it can become pretty difficult to feel connected and meet new people, but joining the bootcamp has definitely made me feel like i’m a part of a community :,) I’m grateful to have met individuals who are just as passionate about design and who continue to inspire me every day!!”

If you’re interested in learning about design but have no previous experience, consider applying to the Design bootcamp and getting an awesome, directed crash course through Design!

--

--