BJ’s This or That | Galentine’s Day | Surprise!

BJ’s This or That: Galentine’s Day Challenge (For Francophiles)

Let’s celebrate by getting tucked into all things cozy chic

--

Photo by Paolo Silvestri on Unsplash

Living as a single woman in a large, new city rocked my 29th year. When I arrived from Michigan in Dallas, Texas, I got my first solo apartment and I thought that there was nothing that could top it. Chateau Jenae wasn’t perfect by any means; it was small and quaint, painted together with objects from roadsides and yard sales, but in a way, it was my very own Paris.

*said Pear-Eee, with flair*

My Southern rehoming was both a beginning and an end. In my spare now-Texan time, I started reading books that made my heart soar, books that taught me how to be French. Or rather, how to live and love with French ideals.

I don’t mean to be insulting to anyone who is French. I fully realize my Midwestern US accent and persistent use and misuse of the word y’all.

I’m not Southern either, not a Texan by any stretch of the imagination, but I do live here. It is my home, but my early Texas days were split.

From my charming and tended duplex in Dallas, my mind lived in Paris for three…

--

--

Brett Jenae Tomlin
BJ’s This or That — The Gathering Table

Brett lives in Dallas with her partner and their dogs. She loves to write about living broadly and bravely with anxiety.