HAVE FUN WRITING

Do I Have a Surprising Lucky Lottery Number?

--

A March Madness writing prompt

No lucky numbers for me. Created in Adobe Express

This writing prompt is brought to you by Keeley Schroder and Julia A. Keirns. Have some fun and play along.

If I had a lucky number, it would be 64. Last year it was 63. At some point this year, it will be 65. If you haven’t figured it out, it’s my age.

After beating cancer and a few other faux pas in my life, I’m living on the gravy train.

I had a lucky number many years ago before the Mayflower dropped anchor on Cape Cod. Then I got married. Damn.

My ex-wife and I played the daily number in Massachusetts damn near religiously. I will not share that number, but one day, I thought she played the number, and she thought I played the number. We didn’t. That number sure as hell came up that evening. We never won again.

Now, if I play the lottery, and I rarely do, my numbers will sometimes include specific dates that are important to me. Other than winning a thousand dollars on a $1 ticket years ago, I haven’t had a lot of luck. I did win $7 on Powerball a couple of years ago. I ate well that day. Hello, McDonald’s!

Raffle tickets are no different. When buying a raffle ticket for a fundraising event, I know I’m just donating my money to…

--

--

Bruce Coulter
BJ’s This or That — The Gathering Table

I'm a retired, disabled veteran with MH issues. Tomorrow will be a better day. Join me and others on Medium. https://medium.com/@brucecoulter_75270/membership