I’m A Vengeful Person

But I never act on it.

--

Photo by Beautinow Niche Perfume: Pexels

Prompt: What is the best revenge?

I can be an extremely vengeful little person but it’s more in theory than practice. I’ve never actually sought revenge on anyone for anything.

Not even my mother.

Mostly.

I did send that letter back unread which was quite the statement. She must have gotten it by now, I’m surprised she didn’t attempt to make contact again. I have her blocked on social media and my husband knows to ignore her now but she hasn’t tried to text either one of us or my brother. When it comes to her, complete and utter information blackout is the best revenge because she will struggle to explain it to the people in her life.

But not really. She’ll just make it my fault. So it’s hard to call it revenge when she’s always controlled the narrative. If I really wanted to get revenge I’d inform the people in her life that she is no longer a part of mine and tell them why. The problem with that is she’s controlled the narrative for so long, it’s unlikely that they’d believe me. When she wants to look like the perfect doting mother, her performances are genuinely Oscar-worthy. Anyone who didn’t actually witness the way that I grew up and how she was with me would struggle to believe anything about it. Because in front of other people, she…

--

--

Ruby Noir 😈
BJ’s This or That — The Gathering Table

14 X’s Top Writer. Vet tech and mom of 6 rescue animals. I speak for those who have no voice.