Fantasy landscape, night sky, archer standing on a rock, target made of blue light, horizon, magical
Image from Kellepics on Pixabay

Fantasy Favourites | This or That

Once Upon a Time in Another Dimension …

ToT Challenge for Fiction Writers

--

My mother used to write fiction, in most of the same genres which I enjoy writing and reading. When she was deep in writing mode my family would fondly describe her as being “away with the fairies”. It was not meant as an insult, more an acknowledgement that her attention was slightly “elsewhere” when she was worldbuilding.

Open book, on the ground, splashes or coloured sparkles flying out from its pages, magical, fantasy
Image by Yuri on Pixabay

One of the fun things about writing fiction, is that it is very immersive. To write it well your characters become real to you, their dialogues, their speech tags and their native locations become almost tangible.

I even convince myself! When I wrote Love Letters Straight from the Heart it felt as if I visited the Prickly Pear Cafe every time my MC went there for a coffee and to study. Several readers commented that they wished they could go there too. What a compliment, I must’ve done a good job setting the scene.

If I’m not in the middle of a serialised piece of writing, publishing a new chapter weekly, there are competitions or mash-up to write for. It may be necessary to…

--

--

Jacinta Palmer🍂
BJ’s This or That — The Gathering Table

*Does not Follow for Follow* Writing the kind of Fiction I love 2 Read | YA | Magical | Romance | Supernatural | Freelance Editor | Besotted with dogs