School Days, School Ways

Sometimes they were the best days

--

How scary is this? Class ring, mood ring and diploma, Class of ’78 (Author’s photo)

These days, I just can’t seem to let a challenge go unaccepted. It’s kind of like being triple-dog dared:

Okay, I’m not this dumb. And the challenge is harmless, in comparison.

Fun fact: My sister, then a first-grader, took a similar dare once at the bus stop. (Someone suggested that she was “chicken”. Fighting words.) When the school bus came, we had to yank her off the metal she was frozen to. Poor kid! Every time I see this scene from A Christmas Story, I remember that day.

The nice guy in me hopes it was staged and the kid wasn’t really stuck. But it sure looks real, doesn’t it?

Anyway, this challenge is school days related, but it’s all about high school, when were were all supposedly a little less likely to do something like this.

Supposedly.

Here’s the story by Denise Kendig that got me started on this:

--

--

Paula Shablo
BJ’s This or That — The Gathering Table

Published Author. Loving daughter, mom, Grandma. Bona fide Geek with the graphic tees to prove it. Believer of all the fantastic things. Artist, musician & fan.