What is the Difference Between Listening and Talking

Adventurous April Writing Prompts Day 6

--

Photo copyright Julia A. Keirns.

I am a listener, not a talker.

Listening is not just sitting there and staying quiet. It requires focusing on the person who is doing the talking, hearing their words, and noting their tone of voice and body movements.

I always make eye contact. I enjoy looking people directly in the eyes. This does two things for me. It helps me know if they are being authentic and truthful with what they are saying, and it helps me know if they are listening to me when I do talk or answer.

When I talk, I do it with the written word. It is not easy for me to say what I want to say out loud and I seem to always mess it up and give the wrong impression. When I write I have a back button, a delete button, and an edit button.

The spoken word cannot be undone so it better be right the first time.

I think I will continue to be a listener, and do all my talking here, with my laptop.

Keeley Schroder’s Adventurous April Writing Prompts can be found in the following article.

--

--

Julia A. Keirns
BJ’s This or That — The Gathering Table

Currently living in an RV full time and traveling across North America. The goal is simply to write about it. Editor of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and ROD.