BJ’s This or That | Animal Humor

If Bats Were Green They’d Still Be The Worst

My least favorite green animal

Brett Jenae Tomlin
BJ’s This or That
4 min readMar 8, 2023

--

Photo by Nils Bouillard on Unsplash

I recently wrote my response to the “Summer Vacation Challenge” by J.S. Phillips, during which I found myself missing out on telling a very important part of my upbringing on our farm in rural Michigan. I tried to fit it in and it just didn’t fit.

You know how it is, you’re writing something and you’re like: “Dang, I’m wordy. This article is 10 minutes long and I still have 7 questions left.” No? Just me?

So, I’m finding a place for it here. Because this is important, people. Bats are the worst. Yes, they eat buggos and they’re a necessary part of our beautiful planet.

I’d take no issue with bats if they’d just chill in their caves and fly at night in the big, bug-dinner-filled sky and then go home to their own dwellings after.

But some of them don’t. Some of them didn’t. Sometimes bats come into your house and swoop round and round above your head and when you throw a blanket over you to protect yourself they are IN THAT BLANKET and get caught in your long, thick, dark hair…

What is your least favorite…

--

--

Brett Jenae Tomlin
BJ’s This or That

Brett lives in Dallas with her partner and their dogs. She loves to write about living broadly and bravely with anxiety.