A Community Manager’s NYE Resolution to the Community

Brittany Metz
Blab Daily Digest
Published in
2 min readDec 24, 2015

I’m not one to personally make resolutions, because I know I’ll break them.

I spend December preparing for a fresh start. I’ve got my 2016 calendar full year calendar posted on my door, my 2016 monthly planner with stickers to stay organized (because no app can replace the organization I can keep with a pen and paper). I need to stay on track because there’s something easy about breaking a promise I make to myself. Instead of making a resolution to myself, I’ll be making one to the Blab community.

I’m making my resolution to you.

Blab has been my life the past 6 months, and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. What makes Blab so wonderful is the community that holds it together. These can’t be promises, but I can try.

I would like to make it super clear what I’ll be working on to the community in which I’m working on it for.

  1. Something I’m doing to help Blab continue to grow is going to work and be a damn hit.
  2. I’m going to create an expected schedule/routine. You’ll know when I am around, when I’m available. How? Well, we’ll figure that out.
  3. I’m going to dive deeper into the community to understand your needs even further as a community member.
  4. I’ll be doing a biweekly “Blab Hello Show” as an open invitation to get to know the new community members. As we continue to grow it becomes harder and harder to welcome everyone face to face. So, we’re going to fix that and make it an event twice a month to get to know all the new faces. *Edit* I now just jump in more Blabs as a community member.
  5. I’m going to finally organize my e-mails so I don’t miss anything.
  6. I’m going to keep being a human. I will not be caving to automatic or scheduled tweets from my personal account ever. If I’m tweeting something, you better believe it’s me.

I want to further understand the community I’m helping create. If you have any feedback or suggestions to what you would like to see more of from me, I’m an open book.

Make sure to recommend and share this out ❤

--

--