MENTAL HEALTH

Hi, My Name Is Kristi.

I’m a Butterfly. And Butterflies Are Free to Fly.

KiKi Walter
Black Bear
Published in
5 min readDec 18, 2022

--

Author photo. Just me and no filter.

Hi, my name is Kristi.

And I’m a butterfly.

Fly away, high away, bye-bye.

I just completed my third week of mental health intensive outpatient treatment. I have a couple more months to go but I’m already making great strides. Every day I process something new and even dig up things I packed away, a long, long time ago.

That’s the funny thing about mental health. Often, we pack away our little bits of pain, the things we don’t want to see or remember into tiny boxes and hide the key somewhere inside the forest of our psyche.

In one of my first sessions, I was asked what animal I associate with. That’s not the first time I’ve been asked that question — I think a lot of us have been asked that question, whether in goofy conversation or in therapy, but I knew my answer immediately.

I am a butterfly.

Fly away, high away, bye-bye…

I raised my hand like an elementary-aged child needing desperately to get the teacher’s attention before they peed their pants.

Without hesitation, I gave my answer.

--

--

KiKi Walter
Black Bear

AKA "The Memoir Queen." Ki is the founder & publisher of The Memoirist, Age of Empathy, Black Bear, and more.