How I Drowned Myself in Alcohol During The Pandemic & Came Back

Remembering the pandemic and how it impacted my relationship with alcohol

DearJC
Black Bear

--

Photo by Edwin Hooper on Unsplash

I was in the darkest days and almost drowning myself with alcohol daily.

I felt more anxious than ever when the world was shut down during the pandemic. Being at home every day, working from home, online learning for the kids, and news all over talking about the uncertainties of the virus frightened us for the future.

People’s connections changed drastically. How people interact and respond to the pandemic, whether with empathy, fear, anger, or compassion, has impacted our relationships significantly.

I have lost connections with close friends along the way.

Everybody was shutting out the outside world and feared reaching out like we were used to.

I remember having wine daily and accompanying Netflix every day after I finished my work. You would be amazed how the state of our mind can influence the shows we watch. I was already someone who was depressed with a high level of anxiety but just never admitted to myself at the time.

I was navigating through all the Netflix shows and ended up watching a political thriller TV show. I won’t mention the name here though. I…

--

--