SIBLING DEATH

My Eldest Brother’s Suicide Left Me An Only Child

Our family seemed cursed by generational trauma

Marcia Abboud
Black Bear
Published in
7 min readApr 7, 2024

--

A young man sits in a doorway, a slight smile on his face as he looks at the camera. He has dark hair and wears glasses. His hands are clasped and resting on his legs in a casual pose. He wears a short-sleeve white shirt, and a tattoo is partially showing under the sleeve of his left side (right arm).
Author’s photo — My Brother Greg, age 21, circa 1980.

If you’re not a member of Medium, click this Friend Link to read for free.

I looked down at the phone sitting on my desk when it buzzed its silent dance. I saw my aunt’s name flash across the screen and my heart sank in a nanosecond. She only calls when something’s wrong. She is, inadvertently, the bearer of bad news.

Aunty Di, my Mother’s younger sister, was once my partner in crime. With only twelve years separating us, I was in my mid-teens when she’d let me tag along to do grown-up things like drink and smoke and get up to general mischief. And although she and Mum were close sisters, Di never told her about our shenanigans. She was an ally at a time when I needed one. Di didn’t know it, though; I kept my secrets to myself.

Bonds can dissipate over time as life moves us in different directions. Di got married and had a baby while I pretended to follow dreams. I didn’t know I was chasing ghosts as I tried to outrun a destiny that looked a lot like hers. Marriage and babies, no thanks. I had bigger plans for my life, and changing nappies wasn’t on my bucket list. I’d be a free-spirited nomad and escape the mental confines of my upbringing. I wouldn’t be…

--

--

Marcia Abboud
Black Bear

And just when she thought she couldn't go on, she did - with wicked humour and a will to survive | Memoir is my first love https://linktr.ee/marciaabboudauthor