I’m Scared My Depression is Coming Back

Reminding myself to be self-compassionate and patient with myself each day is one of the ways I am dealing with it this time around

Yana Bostongirl
Black Bear

--

Sad young woman standing near water
https://www.freepik.com/author/freepik

I am no stranger to depression. Even though I claim I have been depression free for the past few years, I know deep inside that I am not been completely honest.

Sometimes it feels more of a fake it till you make it type of situation.

Since the beginning of the month, I have been observing with dismay how it is slowly seeping in from the peripheries, an outer realm it had been banished to. The darkness is patient if not anything.

It just sits there biding its time for any sense of weakness so it can pounce in the name of filling in a void.

I didn’t get out of bed all of yesterday. I just couldn’t.

Yes, I stirred to get some work done because a girl has got to eat but other than that all I did was switch off my phone and wrap myself in a blanket in a desperate attempt to self-soothe.

I even binge-watched Netflix late into the night but my heart wasn’t into it. Alice in Borderland couldn’t hold my attention despite the alternate universe theme and cheap thrills.

--

--

Yana Bostongirl
Black Bear

I'm a unique blend of cultures from West & South Africa, South Asia & North America| Substack: Yana's World🦋https://yanabostongirl.substack.com/| Come say hi!