Is Rehab Beneficial or Is It a Cash Cow?

What I learned from residential treatment

Michele Maize
Black Bear

--

Photo Credit: Author

In 2010, I was faced with an ultimatum from my husband. Rightfully so, I knew I needed to go. He came home and found me passed out while my daughters had friends over for a playdate. This was not my finest hour.

In a drunken stupor, I packed for some glam nights out. I had a suitcase full of impractical clothes and nothing that I actually needed.

On our way to the intake, I was ready to back out. Every excuse in the book was made but I didn’t get my way. I really had no idea what I was getting myself into. I knew absolutely nothing about rehab.

During the intake, they searched me and my bags, which I understood but why did they have to take my perfume? People actually drink perfume in rehab.

Out went my makeup remover, nail polish, hand sanitizer, and hairspray. The glam outfits that I brought weren’t going to look finished now.

The first three days were detox. Why didn’t I pack a book? A notebook to write in? I had nothing to do but attend one meeting a day.

If you decide to go, don’t forget those few simple things. Plus, comfortable clothes. Take it from me and don’t pack like you are going out on a night on the town.

--

--

Michele Maize
Black Bear

Sober Traveler | Wannabe Vegan | Yoga Addict. Extrovert turned introvert who loves dachshunds. Owner of "The Maze". Editor at Black Bear and Globetrotters.