Sexually Harassed by a Fellow Officer

Supervisors Said Reporting Would Harm My Reputation

--

Law enforcement is a profession that demands dedication, integrity, and a commitment to serving communities without judgment or discrimination… Allegedly.

Sign reading “Please Stay on Trail” at Petrified Forest National Park
Photo by author: Veronica Wren

I’m nervous to share this story.

As a former law enforcement officer of five years, I experienced the many challenges that came with being a female in a male-dominated field. This post recounts one of the many problematic experiences I endured which ultimately contributed to both my leaving the job and my eventual diagnosis of CPTSD. By sharing my story I hope to shed light on the harassment and double standards faced by female officers while advocating for transparency and reform in policing overall.

“Why in the World Did You Want to Become a Cop?”

That’s a wonderful question, one I’ve pondered myself countless times. I’m a shy, queer, liberal female who loathes guns and values active listening. Absolutely nothing about the stereotypical cop persona matches my personality, something I’m reminded of by every single person who has ever learned I was one.

I was initially inspired to study justice and psychology after being sexually assaulted as a freshman in college. I entered the police…

--

--

Veronica Wren - Trauma Sucks. Recovery Shouldn't.
Black Bear

Trauma sucks. Recovery shouldn't. Subscribe here for your FREE exclusive guided journal ❤️‍🩹 bio.link/veronicawren ❤️‍🩹 Domestic Abuse & CPTSD Recovery Coach