The Annoying Trauma Response Born of Narcissistic Abuse

Overexplaining, Explained

--

“Oh jeez, I’m talking way too much. Sorry, I’m being totally obnoxious. Why am I like this?” — Me, several times a day while responding to a genuine question from someone who asked without ulterior motives.

Trigger warnings: Narcissistic Abuse, Trauma

I’ve mentioned before that during the entirety of our time together, my abuser rarely left me alone in a room for more than a few minutes.

He spent five years smothering me with his possessive tendencies and ever-escalating jealousy. His constant need for control led him to increasingly invasive behaviors such as going through my phone, computer, and journal; monitoring me via a location-sharing app; and demanding photographic evidence to confirm I was telling the truth about where I was and who I was with.

These weren’t one-time occurrences, either. These behaviors and more became the norm in his quest for absolute domination over something he believed was his to possess: me.

If I was in the shower, you could bet he spent that time going through my phone. If I were to go anywhere without him, even work, I was expected to be in constant contact. He was caught driving by my location to check up on me on multiple occasions. I hated to hear my texting notifications because if I didn’t immediately show him who it was, he would accuse me of hiding my phone for some shady reason and ice me out for the rest…

--

--

Veronica Wren - Trauma Sucks. Recovery Shouldn't.
Black Bear

Trauma sucks. Recovery shouldn't. Subscribe here for your FREE exclusive guided journal ❤️‍🩹 bio.link/veronicawren ❤️‍🩹 Domestic Abuse & CPTSD Recovery Coach