INNER HEALING | SELF-AWARENESS | NONDOMINANT HAND

Using The Mind-Body Connection to Unlock Deep Emotions

A personal account of insights

Barbara Carter
Black Bear
Published in
7 min readJun 18, 2024

--

Photo by ᴇᴍɪ on Unsplash

Four months earlier, I’d quit drinking to help me continue on an inner healing journey.

I’d just turned 34. I was married to an alcoholic and had three children, ten, nine and seven.

It was the 1990s, and I turned to books to gain information. Still determining how much mind and body are connected. Only when I bought Lighten Up Your Body, Lighten Up Your Life by Lucia Capacchione.

The idea of using drawing and writing exercises to transform attitudes and beliefs seemed just what I needed.

Image from Goodreads.

Yes, I was more fixated on my appearance than my emotions. But I was curious as to what it might mean to go beyond diet. Beyond physical exercise. I wondered about what feelings might be weighing me down.

Since adolescence, I struggled with weight gain and body image. But as I explored inner child work, I was learning there was more to my weight gain than simply eating too much. It was about why I chose certain foods…

--

--

Barbara Carter
Black Bear

Memoir. Life Lessons. Creativity. Art. Healing. Relationships. Books.