Jenny Bourne: Expert on Enslavement

She Perpetuated the Lie of “Natural Increase.”

William Spivey
Black History Month 365
5 min readApr 25, 2022

--

Photo by Sigmund at Unsplash

Dear Jenny,

I probably should apologize for singling you out regarding your ignorance about slavery. Many others including historians, educators like yourself, and the misled, help perpetuate false narratives involving slavery. Most of the history books on the subject don’t name names. Online journals I pored through like USHistory.org, MSU.edu, and others failed to note one of the most inhumane aspects of slavery. Putting out statements like this:

“In the North American colonies, a different situation existed wherein the slave population primarily increased due to the “natural increase” of slave reproduction.” — MSU.edu

You could be forgiven for accepting statements like that and repeating them. It’s very likely that in all your research and study to become a Ph.D. in Economics from the prestigious University of Chicago, that the only reference to slave breeding was repeated denials that such a thing existed. I have a B.A. in Economics from Fisk University where I came across nothing about slave breeding either. But I don’t list among my teaching and research interests; The Economics of Race. If I did, I’d make…

--

--