Traveling While Black: Beyoncé Moments

Inricka L
Black Packers International
2 min readMar 23, 2017

Like every other day it was a sweltering 108 degrees. Determined to cross off my tourist duties, I strategically climbed the long staircase to the temple. At step 203 I spotted a Chinese man gazing at me, mesmerized by my features. Reading his confused stare I knew what was next, “Where are you from?”, and as expected he wasted no time engaging in a discussion regarding the political issues of the United States. How dare he interrupt my tourist-ing with his questions and unsolicited political views! My strategic climbing turned into a hurried hop skip, and I quickly ascended the staircase bidding the man farewell.

Three hundred and nine steps later I arrived at the illustrious Wat Phra That Doi Suthep temple draped in gold and glittered with gems. Convinced I finally lost said Chinese man; I cheerfully purchased an entry ticket, removed my sandals and entered the temple. Doi Suthep was absolutely breathtaking with its flower offerings, traditional Thai artwork, and green glass Buddha. Filing past a group of monks who photobombed my selfie I see him, and in an attempt to change my direction he catches me.

“Can I take a picture with you?” Within seconds, one seemingly innocent photo turned into a paparazzi of Chinese tourists. Shouldn’t they be more concerned with the beautiful temple behind me? Due to their immense fascination with my golden brown skin and crown of kinky curls, it’s fair to say black women are not so commonplace in Southeast Asia.

Flattered by this Beyoncé moment I realize the importance of sharing your experience. On arrival to Thailand it was no secret that I looked different. As one of few black Americans I grew accustomed to the stares, the pointing, chattering and every now and then a darker Thai comparing his skin to mine exclaiming, “Same same!” This was also not my first time posing for family vacation photos, which nearly became a part time job.

As a black American woman, most Asians only hear of my existence through news reports and celebrities like…Beyoncé. Understanding their perception of black people I believe it is important to make my existence known. So on my last day in Thailand I glowed off all the fan love!

--

--